E3 2013

From Codex Gamicus
Jump to: navigation, search

E3 2013 was a video game show held between June 11 through June 13, 2013 in the Los Angeles Convention Center.

The main highlights included details of two major next-generation consoles, Microsoft's Xbox One and Sony's PlayStation 4.

Press conferences[edit | edit source]

Konami, Microsoft, Electronic Arts, Ubisoft, and Sony all hosted press conferences during the conference. However, Nintendo took a different approach by holding no traditional press conference. Instead, Nintendo held "a few smaller events that are specifically focused on our software lineup", and aired a special episode of Nintendo Direct to focus on upcoming U.S. releases and new game unveilings.

Konami[edit | edit source]

Konami held their 3rd annual pre-E3 show on on June 6, 2013. The presentation showcased the company's 40th anniversary and its Dance Dance Revolution: Classroom Edition intiative, before providing updates on upcoming game releases. This included the games Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2, Pro Evolution Soccer 2014 and Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain.

Microsoft[edit | edit source]

Microsoft's press conference took place on June 10, 2013 at 9:30am PT (12:30pm ET). The company announced a November 2013 release date for its forthcoming Xbox One console, priced at US$499. The software lineup was also revealed, including Dead Rising 3, Ryse: Son of Rome and the next installment of Halo.

Controversy arose during Microsoft's showcase of Killer Instinct when an apparent reference to rape was made between the on-stage demonstrators. Microsoft later apologized for the incident and stated that the remarks were not scripted. The overall reception for the Microsoft press conference was mixed; many critics praised the software lineup but expressed disappointment with Microsoft lacking to address the used games and always-online issues at the time.

Electronic Arts[edit | edit source]

Electronic Arts' press conference took place on June 10, 2013 at 1pm PT (4pm ET). Among the new titles shown were the racing game Need for Speed: Rivals and the first-person shooters Battlefield 4 and Titanfall. EA Sports announced a number of new releases, such as Madden NFL 25, NBA Live 14, FIFA 14, NHL 14 and EA Sports UFC.

Ubisoft[edit | edit source]

Ubisoft's press conference took place on June 10, 2013 at 3pm PT (6pm ET). Upcoming action-adventure games included Watch Dogs and the sequels Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag and Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell: Blacklist. Two new franchises – The Crew and The Division – were also announced.

Sony[edit | edit source]

Sony's press conference took place on June 10, 2013 at 6pm PT (9pm ET). The PlayStation 4 was publicly shown for the first time, retailing at US$399. The software lineup included Infamous: Second Son, The Order: 1886 and Killzone: Shadow Fall. There were also new games introduced for the PlayStation 3, such as Gran Turismo 6, Beyond: Two Souls and The Last of Us.

Nintendo[edit | edit source]

The E3 edition of Nintendo Direct aired at June 11, 2013 at 7am PT (10am ET). Nintendo first showed a new trailer for the Nintendo 3DS titles Pokémon X and Y, including the announcement of a new Pokémon type, Fairy Type. After that, Nintendo focused mostly on showing upcoming Wii U titles. Nintendo showed some of the third-party and digital titles coming to the Wii U, and more about previously announced games such as X, The Wonderful 101, The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker HD, and the first gameplay footage of Bayonetta 2. Among the new games announced for Wii U were a new installment of Super Smash Bros., Super Mario 3D World, and Mario Kart 8.